top of page

ASK ME


“I tell you this timeless truth: The person who follows me in faith, believing in me, will do the same mighty miracles that I do—even greater miracles than these because I go to be with my Father! For I will do whatever you ask me to do when you ask me in my name. And that is how the Son will show what the Father is really like and bring glory to him. Ask me anything in my name, and I will do it for you!” John 14:12-13 (TPT)

This is a marvellous scripture. Think about these words. Imagine sitting with the disciples as Jesus is speaking. They had been with Jesus as he went about teaching, preaching, and healing in the towns and villages. The limits and boundaries of possible and impossible were broken as the disciples witnessed the miraculous works of Jesus.

They had watched the miraculous become commonplace. People healed of diseases doctors couldn’t help. Families restored and children delivered from devils and even death. Storms calmed at his word. Space and time suspended as the boat arrived instantly at the shore. A little boys lunch multiplied to feed a multitude. Blind men seeing. Deaf ears open. Lepers cleansed. They had stood with Jesus in Bethany as he shouted the name of a man dead and buried for four days. They saw Lazarus come out of that grave. It was in this context that the disciples heard these words, “…do the same mighty miracles that I do…” He didn’t stop there, Jesus continued, “…even greater miracles than these because I go to be with my Father!” What is it that happens when Jesus goes to the Father? He said, “The person who follows me in faith … will do the same mighty miracles that I do—even greater miracles … BECAUSE I go to be with my Father!” What is it about going to the Father that would open up all the miraculous to the believer? John 7:39 (CEB) … Those who believed in him would soon receive the Spirit, but they hadn’t experienced the Spirit yet since Jesus hadn’t yet been glorified.

Acts 1:8 (TPT) But I promise you this—the Holy Spirit will come upon you and you will be filled with power. And you will be my messengers …

Something amazing happened when the plan of redemption was fulfilled. “But when [Jesus] had offered the one supreme sacrifice for sin for all time he sat down on a throne at the right hand of God…” (Hebrews 10:12 TPT) When He did, the Holy Spirit came. Acts 2:2-4 (TPT) Suddenly they heard the sound of a violent blast of wind rushing into the house from out of the heavenly realm. The roar of the wind was so overpowering it was all anyone could bear! Then all at once, a pillar of fire appeared before their eyes. It separated into tongues of fire that engulfed each one of them. They were all filled and equipped with the Holy Spirit and were inspired to speak in tongues—empowered by the Spirit to speak in languages they had never learned!

The Spirit of God came in fulfilment of a promise. That promise is that what is impossible with man is possible for anyone that believes. It is possible because the very same Holy Spirit that was upon Jesus without measure is today working in and upon the body of Christ.

As believers in Jesus, we should not live below the estate Christ gave Himself to win for us. He said, “Ask me anything in my name, and I will do it for you!” If you look those words up in the original Greek and Aramaic it translates as, “Ask me anything in my name, and I will do it for you!” That is not a typographic error. It is a plain challenge from Jesus to anyone willing to believe and act on His word. “Ask me anything in my name, and I will do it for you!”

The boundaries and limits of natural man should not be what define what we consider possible. Rather, our boundaries should be the vision God has given us to accomplish in His Kingdom. Let me challenge you with the words of Jesus, “Ask me anything in my name, and I will do it for you!”


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page